05
May
08

Taylor Hicks and AI…a relationship that could never work

The show almost behaves as if he never existed. Almost. Some are confused and angry about why AI treats him this way….

‘What did he do to deserve such treatment?’

What did he do? At the very least, Taylor Hicks tried to organize the Idols on Season 5 to get a better contract. It only makes sense that the show doesn’t like him! He was trying to cut into their cash! And more than that, they don’t want another Idol to get any ideas…so he’s ‘out.’ I bet he did other things to ruffle feathers, but just this one item is enough to explain how the show has treated their one and only gray-haired winner.

That is the gamble Taylor took when he made his moves. He could have kissed their ass and then this wouldn’t be a problem. But that obviously isn’t how he rolls.

So for now I’ll take what I can get from AI and I’ll be happy with it.

7 Responses to “Taylor Hicks and AI…a relationship that could never work”


  1. 1 just sayin
    May 5, 2008 at 3:49 am

    LOL — well you know that I agree with you!

    I think all of the “AI is so mean to poor Taylor” paints him as a victim. And I don’t think that Mr. Taylor Hicks is a victim of anyone or anything. At all.

  2. 2 fishwater
    May 5, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    My interest in American Idol began and ended with Taylor Hicks. I had no idea people 1) took the show so personally and 2) never let it go. I assumed when the show was over everyone moved on and would just listen to his music or whatever. What a rude awakening! I don’t really get the whole victim thing either – I figure if the entertainment media don’t like him he must be doing something right.

    Oh, T – did you get a chance to listen to any Todd? Second, if you feel a trip in your future, both John Butler Trio and Jamie Lidell are at Lollapalooza this year (along with a bunch of other great people).

  3. 3 tandjam
    May 6, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Todd R. is on my “May Music to Buy” list…and now it’s May…so I guess I should get on that…

    Lallapalooza sounds good…but so far away! I just saw John Butler a few weeks ago, and I’m going to see Jamie Lidell May 28, so on that front I feel pretty lucky. Very lucky.

    I tried to make it to the NOLA Jazz Fest, but this is just not a good year for me to make trips like that. So I think my music festival this year will be limited to San Francisco’s Outside Lands Fest. I’m really stoked about it because it has a pretty cool lineup… http://www.outsidelandsfest.com/artists/

    (This will actually be my first music festival!)

  4. 4 tandjam
    May 6, 2008 at 1:34 am

    fishwater, are you going to Lallapalooza?

  5. 5 fishwater
    May 6, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Yes, but I live here. Just have to figure out which days – I don’t really want to go all 3 days but probably the bands I want to see most will not be on the same day.

    I love New Orleans, Jazz fest would be a great excuse to visit again. One of these years!

  6. 6 Karen
    May 8, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Tandjam: Couldn’t access the video, but I could see that it was the brief segment of “Day in the Life” that brought back the magic when Taylor performed it on AI finale last year.

    Here’s the link to order Taylor’s postage stamps, in case anyone is interested:

    http://photo.stamps.com/Store/?source=si10985886

    I ordered two sheets – one for my intermittent stamp collection and one for my Taylor collection. I hope the stamps all get sold – besides being a show of support for Taylor, part of the proceeds go to a worthy charity.

  7. November 10, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Taylor was taking his chances and gave it his all to win season 5. Now he is blossoming into a shining star. He plans his career and does what is best to move forward. His Grease performance brought Kudos and a new contract to headline the Grease Tour. He will cross promote on tour from his new CD. His Whomp At The Warfield is also being released in February. He will follow Grease with his won Tour. He is now free to be Taylor! Yeah!


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

