10
Jun
08

Don’t Go Breakin’ My Heart…

An interview with Taylor that gave me a worried feeling can be read here. It gave me a feeling like you might get if you were to have reason to wonder if your significant other might be falling in love with someone else. He says he loves you, but you see that look in his eye when he’s around the other woman…

Here is a line from the interview. I bolded the part that that got to me:

“The great thing about this role is I was able to be Taylor at the same time as Teen Angel,” he said. “It allows me to get my feet wet a little bit before I really dive into acting.”

Oh that’s ok, Taylor. If you want to act and be famous and all that more than you want to make music, that’s ok with me. Follow your heart…be free…

Yeah, I know he didn’t say that. I know he talked about a new album.

But I saw how he looked getting all that press for his “Teen Angel” part:

Somehow I’m thinking that an artistic indie album just can’t compete with that kind of attention. I feel insanely jealous.

Being a fan is so weird.

6 Responses to “Don’t Go Breakin’ My Heart…”


  1. 1 jean
    June 11, 2008 at 1:27 am

    I was surprised too. Not as surprised as the original “playing Teen Angel in Grease” announcement, but still…. doing live theater before “diving into acting”….

    Perhaps there’s room for both an artistic indie album and this theater/acting/insane-press-and-fan-attention thing.

    Although I notice both Marc Broussard and Ray LaMontagne have announced the NAME and RELEASE DATES of their new CDs for the fall….

    from Mr Hicks we get: “…he will be multitasking all summer: writing songs for a new album planned for later this year…”.

    Yuh huh.

  2. June 11, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Although I notice both Marc Broussard and Ray LaMontagne have announced the NAME and RELEASE DATES of their new CDs for the fall….

    from Mr Hicks we get: “…he will be multitasking all summer: writing songs for a new album planned for later this year…”.

    Yuh huh.

    Just another sign. He won’t commit! lol!

    😦

    I didn’t realize Marc Broussard had a release date…sweet.

  3. 3 moonshadow
    June 12, 2008 at 2:34 am

    As a lover of all things Broadway, I have to admit when I first heard Taylor was going to be in Grease, I thought “Oh hell yeah!”. I know my opinion is not the popular one. What can I say? I love it and I really do think it will help his musical career in the long run. However, I do hope he doesn’t put his music on the back burner. I’d be very saddened if his music became secondary to acting. (From a selfish point of view, of course.)
    I do believe he will put out a cd, and I think it will blow everyone’s socks off.

  4. June 12, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Hey moonshadow, differing opinions are always welcome. Well, always welcome from you. 🙂

    His Broadway stint does seem pretty popular with the fans and he does seem to be tearing it up out there in NY, and he is getting some amazing exposure…so good on him!

    I’ll try to wait patiently for the CD.

  5. 5 moonshadow
    June 12, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Thanks, tandjam!

    I had the same initial reaction as you when I read what he said about diving into acting. I don’t want to see him on the big screen, I want to see him kickin’ ass on stage. Yep, being a fan is weird, indeed.

    As for me, I’m not so patiently waiting for the CD. 🙂 I feel like the girl in Willie Wonka….”I want it nowwww!”. Didn’t she turn into a blueberry or something?

  6. 6 marymagdalene
    July 13, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Moonshadow:
    The girl in ‘Willie Wonka’ who said “‘I want it nowwww!'” was the one who wanted the goose that layed the golden eggs, and went down the garbage chute… Her father followed shortly thereafter…
    WONDERFUL movie!!!
    LOVE Gene Wilder!
    **************

    When I first heard that Taylor was going to be on Broadway, I honestly could not figure out how I felt about it… At first, I was like ‘Huh?!’ then I was like, ‘Cool!’

    My Aunt & I went to see him on June 28, and we both absolutely LOVED him!
    My Aunt had never had the opportunity to see Taylor live, and she loved him on AI…
    She now totally understands why I am the way I am about Taylor!
    Woooo!!!


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

