09
Jul
08

Dennis Wilson – Pacific Ocean Blue

This album is magical to me. It is as if it were made for me to love.

Take the cover that I found staring out at me from the record store shelf… Here is the face of a man who looks remarkably like my uncle. Really, he looks like several of my uncles. My family.* So right off the bat I felt connected to this CD. I picked it right up. I wanted to hug it.

And then I read the title: Pacific Ocean Blue. I thought of the Pacific and of my favorite beach and had more warm feelings for the CD.

I held the thick, heavy, double CD set in my hand and read the track list on the back. I looked at the edges through the shrink wrap, and I could see it contained several items, carefully packaged, like special little gifts within a gift.

What could be inside? I had a feeling it was something good.

And it is.

River Song

(a few more songs after the jump.)


Dreamer

Moonshine

Pacific Ocean Blues

This solo album by the Beach Boys drummer has been out of print for years. I didn’t even know it existed or that out of print copies of it have been going for over $200 on eBay as fans fought to get a copy of a ‘lost treasure.’

I didn’t know that it’s just been re-released in a double CD set that includes some never released music from an album that Dennis was working on but never finished called “Bambu.”

I didn’t know I needed this album.

But it found me anyway.

ETA: I hate to even make another post and see this one slip one space down the front page…

* Now you know quite a bit about my family, don’t you?

2 Responses to “Dennis Wilson – Pacific Ocean Blue”


  1. 1 tishlp
    July 13, 2008 at 3:29 am

    If you hadn’t posted the Early Works CD info, MK wouldn’t have found it and posted it on the BB, then I wouldn’t have discovered this album. I lost track of the Beach Boys once I stared raising a family but they were one of my favorite bands. What a delight to discover this music by Brian Wilson. This album is definitely going on my wish list.

    Off to peruse your blog. 🙂

  2. July 13, 2008 at 4:17 am

    tishlp, this music is by Dennis Wilson…but I bet that is what you meant. I love this album. And since you brought him up, Brian Wilson is releasing a new album later this year called That Lucky Old Sun.
    Check it out:


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

