01
Sep
08

John Butler Trio, G. Love, and Phil Lesh at Slow Food Rocks Festival, San Francisco 08/31/08

So yesterday I went to the Slow Food Rocks festival at Fort Mason, San Francisco. Now this was my kind of festival. ONE stage (so tandjam won’t get confused), all the sets lasted over an hour (not just the headliner), a crowd of reasonable proportions, and the kicker: perfect weather.

Could there have been a more beautiful day in San Francisco? I don’t think so.


Here is a short video clip of John Butler performing ‘Ocean’…such a beautiful day, and beautiful guitar…

A short clip of the scene during the Phil Lesh and Friends set (it was great):


I feel so relaxed just watching that…

Nice.

More short vids of John Butler after the jump.

Another short clip of “Ocean”…

Short clip of John Butler Trio performing “Gov Did Nothin'”

I love the John Butler Trio’s drummer, Michael Barker. Half the reason I go to the shows is to hear and feel his solos pound through the atmosphere…

I can’t believe I didn’t get any vids of G. Love and Special Sauce… bummer! They were great…

Phil Lesh and Friends:

I taped and I’ll post some mp3s of the shows, but it will take me quite a while to get to it. However, there were a couple other tapers there who will have much better recordings, so keep an eye out on the interwebs…

(ETA: I missed London Street, the first band of the day.)

6 Responses to “John Butler Trio, G. Love, and Phil Lesh at Slow Food Rocks Festival, San Francisco 08/31/08”


  1. 1 moonshadow
    September 1, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Oh , wow. I’m so very, very envious! You saw JBT !!! As the risk of becoming a whiner, I’m going to end my post here. 🙂

  2. September 2, 2008 at 5:53 am

    I had the best time at the Sunday show. Good food, good music, good people. Reminded me of the ’60s when an outdoor concert was totally food for the soul. I produce and host a community radio show about food and music—so I guess they put this event on just for me. I’m so glad everyone got to enjoy it too!

  3. 3 moonshadow
    September 3, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Sounds like the fest was a great time for all! Thank you for the vids, tandjam. Michael is fierce on drums. All three are insanely talented.

    My questions are – what types of food were sold at the festival? Did you buy another t-shirt, tandjam? If you did and if it’s too big…..I’ll trade ya’! 🙂

  4. 4 Linda T
    September 4, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Wow, sounds like you had a wonderful time. I do vow that someday, I will be able to hear John Butler play “Ocean” live. Whew-the-hell-whewwww. Unbelievable.

    Look forward to hearing the mp3s. If they are from other tapers, can you make sure to link us up to them? I never know where to look for such things.

    Thanks again! 😀

  5. 5 morewines
    November 27, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Wanted to go to this, but had too much on the schedule. I’ll
    have to try next year.

    I saw Phil Lesh several years ago. Would like to see him again and
    his friends.


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

