05
Sep
08

Melody Gardot

I have no time these days to be posting to this blog. Work is crazy, and home is crazy, and I’m busy, busy, busy… But I just heard this artist for the first time today and I have to put up some kind of short post about her…

Melody Gardot. Check this girl out.

Love Me Like a River Does

The next video doesn’t allow embedding. Could it be my new favorite version of Aint No Sunshine? Too bad it’s a partial video.

Ain’t No Sunshine
HERE. check it out.

Worrysome Heart

3 Responses to “Melody Gardot”


  1. 1 Linda T
    September 6, 2008 at 6:41 am

    I just saw her perform at the Newport Jazz festival. She was……interesting. She started out singing a-cappella and then went right into Ain’t No Sunshine. She was doing great, but then something turned for me. Perhaps the tragic chanteuse part just went to far without any lightness to it. Or maybe it was that the aural part of her performance was great, but the visuals were distracting to me. I couldn’t get over the combination of stiletto heels and a cane….LOL.

    On the other hand, her band was outstanding, particularly her trumpet player. And, she has earned the tragic chanteuse role since her terrible accident several years ago has left her sensitive to both light and sound — and yet she continues to perform live music through the pain. I admire her for not giving up. She has to leave the stage when her band plays louder than a few decibels, and she wears sunglasses to protect her eyes from the light.

    So I guess I fall on two sides of the fence where she is concerned. I’d love to hear your thoughts (when you have time, of course).

  2. September 6, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Linda, thanks for posting your impressions of Melody Garbot from the Jazz festival. I was wondering if you knew of her already…

    From the CNN article about her it sounds like she took up music because of the accident. It sounds like she didn’t play or sing before the accident…but I’m not sure if I’m understanding correctly. I think her story is very interesting, and her voice really moved me. Granted, I just heard her for the first time this morning! I’ll get her albums soon and listen more and see what I think. So far I love her.

  3. 3 moonshadow
    September 22, 2008 at 9:43 am

    tandjam, If you like Leonard Cohen there’s a terrific diary about his music over at dailykos. This link should take you there: http://www.dailykos.com/storyonly/2008/9/21/103238/695/186/604939


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

