11
Nov
08

Ray LaMontagne Live, 11-03-2008, recap w/audio

barn20field20and20storm20clouds

The clouds crack and growl
Like some great cat on the prowl…

-Winter Birds

On a rainy November 3rd, I went to see Ray LaMontagne at Oakland’s beautiful Paramount Theatre. The night was full of anticipation and excitement both because of the historic election that was coming the next day, and because we were about to hear Ray sing. At quiet moments between songs, people in the crowd yelled out refereneces to Obama like “Change is coming!” and the song request “Jolene!” in about equal parts. It was a happy night.

The theater was beautiful. It was a beautiful show. We had beautiful seats. Ray was beautiful.

I don’t know what else to say, except that “Gossip in the Grain” is a great album, and if you get the chance to see Ray live I really hope you do. He casts a spell and you just fall in…

Here’s the set list with some samples of my recording of the show:

1. You Are the Best Thing
2. Hold You In My Arms
3. Let It Be Me

4. I Still Care For You
5. Empty
6. Henry Almost Killed Me

7. Narrow Escape

8. Meg White
9. Burn

10. Winter Birds

11. Hey Me, Hey Mama
12. You Can Bring Me Flowers

13. Shelter
14. Trouble

-encore-
15. Three More Days
16. Jolene
-second encore-
17. Gossip In The Grain

Downloads to follow in a few days…(except for the two dudes in the second row who talked through ‘Empty.’ No downloads for you!)

Oh, and I’ll just come right out and say I’d love some comments on this one…either on this recording, or on the album “Gossip in the Grain” or on Ray or whatever…Please share your thoughts!

ETA: download of this show HERE.

PS: for example, doesn’t ‘Meg White’ just mess with your head? It’s too fun to be Ray LaMontagne. He actually wrote a line that says “Baby, you’re the bomb”? No way. And it…sticks in your head. And my 16 year old son loves it and is working on designing his myspace page around it. Wouldn’t it be ironic and crazy if this little ditty became a hit for Ray LaMontagne?

And doesn’t ‘Burn’ just kill you at the end?

And isn’t Winter Birds just stunningly beautiful?

13 Responses to “Ray LaMontagne Live, 11-03-2008, recap w/audio”


  1. 1 Robin
    November 13, 2008 at 7:49 am

    Sitting here listening to Winter Birds as I wait to finish this post.

    Okay. Yes. Stunning. Definitely felt that spell you describe.

    Thank you.

  2. 2 moonshadow
    November 13, 2008 at 8:28 am

    I don’t get to many concerts, so I can’t thank you enough for sharing the music, t&jam.

    November 3rd I was about to jump out of my skin, I was so nervous. Yep, I was a hand-wringer. A Ray LaMontagne concert would have soothed by nerves!

    On November 4th I had to get out of the house, away from the computer and away from the news channels. So, I took some homemade chocolate chip cookies to the local Obama HQ. While there, I volunteered to canvass and was sent to one of the satellite offices. Once I arrived, I was partnered with a really nice guy named Von, and we set out to do last minute canvassing. Sadly, many of the houses we went to were abandoned and under foreclosure. 😦 But, we canvassed until 30 minutes before the polls closed.

    My state is still red, but a lighter shade of red this time around.

    Thanks for listening to me chatter away, and, again, thanks for the music. You rock!

  3. November 13, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Robin, thanks for listening and for the comment. I know Ray doesn’t knock your socks off like he does mine…

    Moonshadow, thanks for sharing your story of Nov 4th! The image of convassing, and many of the homes being in foreclosure, is one that sums up the night and the where we are in time: Right now a lot of people are in trouble…and right now a lot of people are ready to get out there and help change things. It’s an amazing time. It was an amazing night.

  4. 4 moonshadow
    November 14, 2008 at 7:41 am

    It was an amazing night! I’m glad you woke up in enough time to hear President-Elect Obama’s speech. 🙂 Oh Happy Day!

    I think when he is sworn in, his win will no longer seem surreal to me.

  5. 5 Linda T
    November 24, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Finally, finally FINALLY I had a chance to sit down and listen to this all the way through with the good headphones. Wow….

    First of all, let me compliment you on a stellar recording job. This is so crystal clear! I cannot wait for the downloads of this concert…I’ll be like a kid in a candy store.

    “Let it Be Me” is one of my favorites. Even though I don’t go for songs with a country feel, this one is an exception. Feel how he builds and builds and builds into such a exquisite tension when he sings “Feel like you’d give anything for just a little place you can call your own” and then the whole thing comes to a stop when he sings “That’s when you need someone….” That tension and release just sends me over the edge.

    Love the driving beat and harp of “Henry Nearly Killed Me”.

    “Winter Birds” is the song that has haunted me all fall long. It is achingly beautiful to me. Tears have sprung to my eyes on more than one occasion while listening to this song. I often find myself walking around singing “the days grow short as the nights grow long — the kettle sings its tortured song”. I really believe that sometimes a song just “finds” you at the right time….and this one, thank god, found me.

    I’ve never heard “You Can Bring Me Flowers” before — love it. More tension building…whew!

    “Gossip in the Grain” has been in constant rotation since it came out. I really love the mix of upbeat and melancholy songs….the trippy feel of “I Still Care for You” contrasted against the down-home vibe of “Hey Me, Hey Mama”. I think he has struck out into an interesting direction musically on this CD.

    Sadly, I missed him while he was here in Boston. I won’t make that mistake again should he come back this way.

    Thanks again for a lovely concert. 🙂

  6. 6 moonshadow
    November 28, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Happy Thanksgiving, tandjam!

  7. December 16, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I love, love, love Ray LaMontagne. He is on my list of people to see.

    Thank you so much for the samples. Those are fantastic!!

  8. 8 zach
    March 7, 2009 at 1:48 am

    Is there any way that i can download this set. It has wonderful sound!!

  9. 10 rich benson
    April 26, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Could you burn me a copy of this disc, I’m so not proficient in transferring mp3’s to disc and would much appreciate anyone who could help. my email is futiaunfathomable@hotmail.com . I’ll pay for it anyway that works for who that helps me out. Saw him several times on this tour, but cannot for the life of me locate a good recording of a show. thanks…

  10. April 27, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Hi, Rich. I don’t burn CDs for people here or I would be burning an awful lot of CDs and have no time to care for my children. 🙂 But maybe someone can help you.

    However, please don’t pay anyone for this show in any way. Most of the time the way it works is that someone volunteers to burn it for you for ‘discs and postage.’ You send them blank discs and return envelope with return postage, and they burn it for you.

    This way no money changes hands. No one should be paid for burning this or for sending this. In order to keep trading of live recordings alive, please never pay for live recordings.

  11. 12 rich benson
    April 27, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Thanks for the info tandjam, can that person be you to help me or point me toward someone that can? I just saw Ray in Milwaukee as well as Mpls. last fall and I’m trying to locate good recordings or from that era. I know import cd dealers work abroad as I’m a huge collector of someone ‘purple’ from Mpls..hmm. But, domestically, I can easily send blanks so we all can help each other out. I would love to trade up for anything you may want so let me know if that’s a possibility. thanks much…


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

