19
Jan
09

Taylor Hicks to release some new music at some point in the near future

NOT a photo from Martyr's

NOT a photo from Martyr's

Last night there was a Taylor Hicks show at Martyr’s in Chicago. It was his first show in a long time, and it was the first time he played some of his new music in public. And today was supposed to be the day I posted a little T from the show.

But no. He’s got a total media ban on these initial ‘shadow tour’ dates. No photos, no vids, no audio, no nothin’.

We do have a ‘snippet’ of his new single What’s Right Is Right that you can hear on Amazon:

And I guess that’s all we get for now. I think it sounds pretty good. It’s such a small sample… But it sounds good…

This single will be released January 20 27.

The album comes out March 10th.

I really think this guy has what it takes to make it happen. I hope he does make it happen with this new album.

And I hope we get some of these ‘shadow tour’ dates in San Francisco.

ETA: I heard the single! It was leaked to the fan club. I like it! It’s smooooooooth. Smoooooth like a baby’s bottom. So smoooooth. And soulful. nice.

8 Responses to “Taylor Hicks to release some new music at some point in the near future”


  1. January 19, 2009 at 7:24 am

    *sigh*

    I love your title…it’s pretty fitting for him right now. 😉

    I wish he would have played some more new stuff…makes me kind of nervous.

  2. January 19, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Yeah, it looks he’s going to dole the new music out little by little, torturing us slowly. I’ll play along…

  3. 3 spinshack
    January 19, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Too slowly and he’ll kill the interest factor. Makes me nervous too.

  4. January 19, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    I wouldn’t worry. Whose interest is it going to kill? Yours? Mine? I don’t think so. The people who don’t have any idea he has an album coming out? No, I don’t think it makes a difference to them. It makes no difference career-wise to have no live media before the album drops. It only makes a difference to us, er, hardcore fans that have been waiting for media from these shows for a month now and are disappointed that there won’t be any. But we’ll get over it.

    I think all signs are pointing to a good album in March, and I’m pretty stoked about that.

  5. 5 spinshack
    January 19, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    So you look at the glass half-full I take it? LoL

  6. 6 Linda T
    January 20, 2009 at 7:50 am

    T&J, I hope also that he schedules some shows in SF and in the west coast. Hopefully by that time the album will be out, more new songs will be on the setlist, and the taping bans will ease a little (sheesh, I haven’t been this optimistic in months! LOL, I’m giving Pollyanna a run for her money!)

    In the meantime, we’re in a bit of a (frustrating) holding pattern….so I’m going to spend some of my time listening to other music while I’m waiting. My Morning Jacket just came out with a killer album that I love, and I’ve been grooving on some of the more trippy stuff from Blitzen Trapper and Fleet Foxes. Derek Trucks also has a great new bluesy album as well, John Mellencamp put out his best album in years….and, I just bought the CD/DVD set of Neil Young when he was about 12 singing at a coffeehouse in Ann Arbor, Michigan. So… lots to keep busy with. Oh, and I got a 2-CD set of John Butler live in Ireland — do you have that one?

    Speaking of which, I have to get my a** busy and download your Ray LaMontagne and Tab Benoit shows! 🙂

  7. January 20, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Linda, wow, you’ve got a pile o’ music to listen to, hu? nice! As far as other music goes, I’ve been really into the Bon Iver of late. And Fiest! Can you believe I finally got Fiest’s album a few months ago? What took me so long? So, Bon Iver and Fiest are my life right now, and I just have not branched out much at all in the last few months. Sad, hu? But I’m about ready to purchase a new batch of music and that John Butler live in Ireland is on my list for sure. That’s the solo one, right? no trio? I’ll look into the others you mentioned, too. (I like ‘trippy’ stuff…)

    (I hope you like the Tab Benoit set. I think it’s good fun.)

  8. 8 juliegr
    January 21, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Hey T&J — I like your attitude and I totally agree. What’s the need of being “nervous”? It is what it is — and what’s right is right — and Taylor is doing it his way.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

