26
Feb
09

Taylor Hicks “The Distance” album preview on AOL

I loved Taylor Hicks on that giant karaoke contest in 2006. Wasn’t he great? And I’ve seen him in concert several times *cough* since then and always enjoy his live show. But I’m going to be honest here and say I didn’t love the album he put out after AI. I can’t really recommend it. I enjoyed some of the songs stripped down or decorated with tags as part of his live show, but the album recordings… didn’t blow my hair back.

But this new album, The Distance…this new one I can get behind. I like this music. The old Taylor is back. He growls, he grooves, he emotes, he rocks, he hits those high notes…and the music sounds great. My ears enjoy this.

The album is an entertaining mix of songs, and while some are better than others, there is nothing bad on the album, and plenty good.

You can listen to a preview of Taylor’s entire album here.

Tracks I recommend you check out:

Seven Mile Breakdown – everything you need in a southern rock song.

Maybe You Should – a tender heart-breaker

I Live On a Battlefield – shows off Taylor’s voice and is just good music, a good song.

Woman’s Got To Have It – old school soul cover with Elliott Yamin.

***ETA: You can get the song Seven Mile Breakdown for free right now on Amazon. ****

3 Responses to “Taylor Hicks “The Distance” album preview on AOL”


  1. February 26, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Let me start off by saying that this CD is light years better than his last one. I only find myself listening to those songs you listed above, though. The rest I’m just eh about. I’m not sure this record will give Taylor the commercial success he craves, though…but it is a definite improvement.

  2. 2 KLC
    February 27, 2009 at 5:13 am

    I honestly love this entire CD. Different song style for each track – thats what I love. Every song is good – usually on a CD there is a track you just skip over, not this one. I can’t wait to get my hands on this CD.

  3. 3 moonshadow
    February 28, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I listened to only a few of the songs, but from the few I listened to, I know I’ll like this CD much better than the last. I have to say – I love, love, love ‘Wedding Day Blues’. Quirky and fun. What can I say?


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

