26
Apr
09

Taylor Hicks Live -Cafe Du Nord- April 14, 2009, Recap w/ Audio

photo credit to soulkaren! Taylor Hicks, Cafe du Nord, 4-14-09As he tours the country in Grease, Taylor Hicks has been playing some little after-hours shows in some cities along the way. I went to see one of those shows at the Roxy in Hollywood, and then when he came up to San Francisco, I caught another one of those shows at the Cafe Du Nord on a Tuesday night.

(photo credit: soulkaren)

Of course, if you know me, you know I wouldn’t have missed it. Who cares that the show started after 10:00 pm on a weeknight? It’s Taylor Hicks! He’s in my town, I’m going to see him, and sleep can wait.

And of course it was worth it.

The first thing I realized upon listening to the recording: Putting the mics on top of the soundboard was not a high enough position to be over the crowd noise. I probably could have gotten a better recording using my old methods. Ah well, live and learn. Let’s just say that the crowd chatter lends charm and personality to the recording.

And I also set the levels too low, as usual.

So, the audio isn’t as good as the Roxy recording, but it’s listenable. And it’s Taylor, so you know I’m listening. (ETA: This is not one of my best recordings. For a much better Taylor Hicks recording, please see the Roxy recording and the Roxy downloads.)

Here is the night’s set list, with some audio samples and a few comments:

The Distance
Give Me Tonight
What’s Right Is Right – I really liked this version. He changed it up a bit.

Heaven Knows>>The Maze -great tags in The Maze…Raincheck…

Heart and Soul – really good … things seemed to spark right here…

Woman’s Gotta Have It

Seven Mile Breakdown … Josh Smith solo, Taylor harp solo…things burst into flame here…

I was exhausted after experiencing SMB.

I thought that for sure Taylor was going to need a break after that…but he just dove right into the next song…

I Live On A Battlefield…things were kept smoldering here for a while with a bluesy solo from Josh Smith …

Now we really do need a rest, I mean come on, we are not machines.

-whew-

*wipes sweat from brow*

*takes a swig of something*

How about some Paul Pena?

Gonna Move …comfortable, relaxed…

Hide Nor Hair starts so unassuming …then a nice solo from Brian Gallagher…and then things really start warming up again…

Soul Thing …solos from Josh and harmonica from Taylor keep things cooking along…

-Encore-
My Sweet Lord …Taylor doesn’t really tag it, but he shouts out ‘Memphis Soul Stew! King Curtis!

He was cookin’ the whole time.

Downloads coming soon. ETA: Downloads HERE.

5 Responses to “Taylor Hicks Live -Cafe Du Nord- April 14, 2009, Recap w/ Audio”


  1. April 26, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Awesome!! Thanks so much! Can’t wait for the downloads. And no matter how many times I hear him sing Heart and Soul, it never sounds the same way twice to me. Gotta love that!

  2. 2 Robin
    April 26, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Thank you!

    I know how much work this must be for you to get these posted. I wouldn’t take anything for them. Such a great night with wonderful friends and excellent music. Now tell your perfectionist self to take a chill pill.

    xxoxx

  3. 3 spinshack
    April 27, 2009 at 4:32 am

    Excellent post, muchas gracias!

  4. 4 juliegr
    April 28, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Fan-tas-tic! Thanks for the clips and the final product is amazing.


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

