29
Nov
09

Looking forward to my first Avett Brothers show

7 Responses to “Looking forward to my first Avett Brothers show”


  1. 1 moonshadow
    December 3, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    The show in my city is sold-out. Bummer.

  2. 2 Linda T
    December 6, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    It’s fantastic to see you back! 🙂

    I saw the Avetts this past fall at the House of Blues in Boston. One of the most happy, joyous, uplifting, fun, funny, break my heart open with pure unadulterated love show ever! While I was online I found this description of their live show and it fits!!

    ” One of the most amazing bands I’ve seen in years – a succesful mashup –
    southern punk folk rock balladeers cum velvet underground
    with a full serving of grits, bangers,collard greens
    and subcutaneous energy in studio
    that if you see them live, wired-up and banjo-drum-ax-cello frenzied
    bleeds out like a gator-ripped wildebeast firehose aorta in concert-
    Climb out your window,
    sell the I-Phone,
    bribe the doorman-
    Don’t miss the real show for anything.”

    Oh, and their album “I and Love and You” was my favorite release of any artist in 2009! I hope you have a wonderful time, and I can’t wait to hear all about it. 🙂

  3. 3 Linda T
    December 6, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    “Laundry Room” was one of the highlights of the night. My face nearly broke from smiling! Joe Kwon is the most amazing headbanging cellist ever! It’s a song that stays in your mind too — once I caught myself singing it aloud while walking across a hospital parking lot. Thank god no one was around when I got to the line “keep your clothes on, I’ve had all that I can taaaaaake” LOL

    God, I just love these guys so much! I’m so glad you get to see them! I know it’s months away but I can’t wait to hear your review and if you are able to get any audio. I didn’t even bother bringing my taping equipment because House of Blues is notorious for strip searching. Wouldn’t you know, that night they didn’t even bother — aaacckkk!

  4. December 7, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Moonshadow, there’s always eBay or stubhub!

    Linda, I wish the show was in four days instead of in four months!

  5. 5 Linda T
    January 25, 2010 at 7:26 am

    If you would like to have a warm-up a couple of months early, the Avetts were on Austin City Limits last weekend. You can watch it here:

    http://video.pbs.org/video/1392403650/

    Enjoy!

  6. 6 moonshadow
    April 20, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Did you go to the show,tandjam? How was it?

    OT- Have you checked out the new JBT album? I’ve heard one of the songs on the radio and I wasn’t too crazy about it.

  7. April 21, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Moonshadow, yes I went to the show. It was great! Maybe I’ll get around to posting about it and putting the recording up someday…

    I had not listened to the new JBT yet, but I am sampling it on Amazon right now and so far I’m not super excited about it. I don’t don’t know if I’ll buy it. The reviews from the fans don’t look real good… Still, I want to keep my mind open. Just because it’s different from the other albums doesn’t mean it isn’t good… We’ll see.


Leave a Reply

lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page

