20
Mar
09

This is where it all starts: Right here at the Roxy Theatre (concert recap w/ audio)

taylorroxycali
(thanks to Cali50 for the picture)

Last night I saw Taylor Hicks at the Roxy in Los Angeles. (March 18, 2009)

I loved it. It was my favorite TH performance. He brought his A+++ game. Great music. It was the best vocals I’ve ever heard from him, and that’s saying something.

The crowd was pretty cool, the venue was cool, the band was great, and like I said, Taylor seriously BROUGHT IT.

And that encore…remember Taking It to the Streets? Remember how he just rocked that song out and we all shouted ‘HELL YES!’ at the end? Well, that’s how he rocked out My Sweet Lord. It was electric. I wish you could have seen it.

I can’t give much more of a recap because I am running on very little sleep and…I just can’t. I’m beat.

The recording should be up in a few days, but here’s some samples while you wait:

ETA: The Right Place

Gonna Move

Seven Mile Breakdown

My Sweet Lord


39 Responses to “This is where it all starts: Right here at the Roxy Theatre (concert recap w/ audio)”


  1. March 20, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Awesome, awesome, awesome!!

    Thank you so much for posting these…nothing like Taylor on stage, is there?

  2. 2 yourssoully
    March 20, 2009 at 8:58 am

    whoa, good job! Can’t wait for the rest (after you rest) hee

  3. March 20, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Good pull! Looking forward to hearing the rest!

  4. 4 brownhairedgirl
    March 20, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I’m glad you had fun…OMG I heard it was a great concert. I wish I could have been there.

  5. 5 brownhairedgirl
    March 20, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Did you happen to get a recording of Once Upon A Lover? I so want to hear that one live.

  6. 6 brownhairedgirl
    March 20, 2009 at 9:40 am

    I love George Harrison and the song My Sweet Lord is one of my favorites from him. I like this version.

  7. 7 Robin
    March 20, 2009 at 9:49 am

    I’ve been dying to hear this MSL. That’s pretty incredible! Great sound on all the samples.

    Thanks, tandjam. Sleep. But not too long!

    Looking forward to the rest.

  8. 8 tishlp
    March 20, 2009 at 9:53 am

    OMG, this is the best audio from a concert I’ve heard! Absolutely amazing quality. Thanks for posting it.

  9. 9 cypfan
    March 20, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Just great sound,,,,so clear and I love hearing the men getting into it. Thank you so much for sharing Lisa.

  10. 10 moonshadow
    March 20, 2009 at 10:10 am

    I think my headphone or the audio on my laptop must be fried. The sound, for me, is static-y. Do any of you remember when 8-tracks were in? Do you remember what the sound was like when the tape was ‘loose’? How the sound would drag, then speed up, and then play normally? That’s what I’m getting over my headphones. Maybe my headphone is on an acid trip. Kind of sounds like the way movies portray acid trips, anyhow.

    Tandjam, I am happy to have audio from the Roxy, just wondering if I need to purchase a new listening device. :p

  11. March 20, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Moonshadow, I think when you can download it, it will sound fine. For some people these samples are streaming fine, but it seems that for some people they sound wonky… I’m not sure why.

  12. 12 moonshadow
    March 20, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Tandjam, Thanks!

    I have to admit it. I’m envious of you and all who attended the concert. Thank you so much for bringing the music to us. 🙂

  13. March 20, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Did you happen to get a recording of Once Upon A Lover? I so want to hear that one live.

    I recorded the whole show. I’ll post it in a few days…

  14. 14 Linda T
    March 20, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I’m just flabbergasted….and thankful….and can’t wait for more. Thank you so much!

  15. 15 brownhairedgirl
    March 20, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Great! I’ll keep checking back. The sound is great on these too. 🙂

  16. 16 osb
    March 20, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Thanks for sharing, t&jam – great sound and so nice to have Taylor back live in my headphones.

  17. 17 juliegr
    March 20, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    WEEEEEEEEEEE!!! Thanks — you’re a miracle worker and I LOVE “toast and jam” — is it strawberry. 😉

  18. March 20, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Wow! You have no idea how stoked I am to hear these! Can’t wait until the whole show is posted.

    Thanks so much, tandjam!

  19. 19 Cindy
    March 20, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Awesome awesome….thank you!!!

  20. 20 KimLoree
    March 20, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    I think I love you. This is the next best thing to being there. The sound quality is fabulous. Thanks for sharing with us.

  21. 21 Redrosespeedway
    March 20, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Thanks so much! Lovin My Sweet Lord especially!

  22. 22 AH
    March 20, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Wow this is taper quality ! .. any chance you’ll put the full show on archive.org for people to find ?
    Recordings may Be the concerts for many of us this year .. thank you so much for doing this.

  23. 23 marymagdalene
    March 20, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    T&J:
    I cannot wait to hear the finished product!
    I was listening in, from what I could hear, it was a PHENOMENAL SHOW, and needless to say, I am envious of everyone who attended. 🙂
    As I live in CT, it was not feasible for me to attend this one, nor is it likely with any of the other West Coast shows… 😦

  24. 24 True
    March 20, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    These recordings take me back to the early WorkPlay audio; to the Dewey tapes. This stuff is better, I think. This is one for the archives, Lisa. I can’t wait to hear it on my pro headphones. Heh, heh.

    Can I just say I’m incredibly grateful to be on the receiving end, benefiting from all the time and effort (not to mention $$$ gear!) that it surely has taken for you to learn how to do this right. Congrats. Beautiful job.

  25. 25 MusicFan
    March 20, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I was at the Roxy and TandJ, I am so thrilled you captured this. It was an amazing performance! Thank you so much for your efforts – these selections sound amazing!

  26. 26 berney
    March 20, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Man, this is awesome stuff! Great job!! The sound is terrific. Thanks so much!!!!

  27. 27 CALTAYFAN
    March 20, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    The sound quality on these samples is excellent! Takes me right back to the concert! I can’t wait for the downloads so I can relive that night over and over. Best concert ever! Thank you so much for capturing it!

  28. 28 Linda T
    March 21, 2009 at 12:16 am

    The 12 minute Seven Mile Breakdown jam session has put me in a very happy place today. 🙂

  29. 29 meg
    March 21, 2009 at 12:24 am

    I wasn’t certain I’d like a funked up version of MSL, but WOW! Wish I were there! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  30. 30 timewarpnut
    March 21, 2009 at 3:00 am

    WOW! Thanks, Lisa. Just listening to MSL and it was awesome!! What great sound quality… 🙂

  31. March 21, 2009 at 3:44 am

    Wow-thank YOU-I can just SEE Taylor doing these just by listening-

    Wow-and Seven Mile Breakdown was to die for-I’ll dance on that one all night long–I like it better live than on the CD but that’s OK–

    The DROUGHT is OVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!

  32. 32 jonibug
    March 21, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Oh my, this is truly awesome!! Can’t wait for the rest. Thank you sooooooo much.

  33. 33 I was There
    March 22, 2009 at 3:00 am

    GRIZ, did you see the little hip rolling dance he did during the encore? HOLY COW…….NEVER seen that before. My mouth fell open…….Hopefully someone got it on tape.

    The concert was great, although I would love for him to talk a bit more and have that little story play between songs. Also, I would have loved to hear more of the new songs. That is why I went!!!!

    Any who, I wish I had met you, I love all of your posts and the way you never toe the fan line and always stand by your own opionions.

  34. March 22, 2009 at 3:09 am

    Griz is not here, man. Or I don’t think so. Unless she is using another name…?

    ETA: And thanks for the nice words about my posts. 🙂 Unless you were talking about Griz’s posts,…wait, you were, weren’t you?)

    ETA: And I don’t usually want video, being more of an audio girl myself…but I would really like to see that MSL performance again… oh yes, I would.

    ETA: Oh wait, Griz is on the other post’s comments.

  35. 35 I was There
    March 22, 2009 at 3:48 am

    I”M SO CONFUSED!!!!! LOL!

  36. 36 3T
    March 22, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Wow…..just wow!!! This really put a big ole smile on my face!! Thanks so much!!! The sound is incredible….ya done good! 🙂

  37. 37 Meg Collins
    March 23, 2009 at 2:51 am

    Now this is the Taylor that stopped me dead in my tracks. He is a master in this context —
    Wish I’d been there — glad you were!!

  38. March 27, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Thank you, Lisa! Your generosity and hard work have made many people happy. 🙂


Leave a comment


lyrics of the day

When life hits you like a truck you gotta rise up.

-Paul Thorn

t&jam’s recently played tracks

tandjam's Profile Page